Unit Cells

 Unit Cell

The smallest repeating unit of the crystal lattice is the unit cell, the building block of a crystal.


Parameters of unit cell 

Edge length a,b, and c

The angles among these edges , 𝛽 𝑎𝑛𝑑 𝛾




 Seven types of crystal system

There are about 230 crystal forms, which have been grouped into 14 types of space lattices, called Bravais Lattices, on the basis of their symmetry and seven different crystal systems on the basis of interfacial angles and axes


Types Of Unit Cell

    1. Primitive Cubic Unit Cell
    2. Body-centered Cubic Unit Cell
    3. Face centered cubic unit cell